Know more about Ignition Interlock Device Part 2

Attorney Ross Goodman
520 S 4th St,
Las Vegas, NV 89101
Phone: (702) 383 – 5088
Fax: (702) 385 – 5088

The part 1 of this article focused on the law behind the Ignition Interlock Device. Under Nevada’s law, the court shall order the installation of Ignition Interlock Devices if:

  • The person is found to have a BAC of 0.18 or more in his blood or breath
  • If the person is charged with DUI Felony
  • If the person is involved in a vehicular homicide
  • Caused a DUI related injury to other person

Interlock Devices are designed to control DUI offenders from operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol.

If you are charged with DUI, consult a lawyer as soon as possible. Attorney Ross Goodman is the go-to lawyer when it comes to DUI-related offense. He can help reduce the charges against you, or may even have the case dismissed.

Installation of Ignition Interlock Devices

The Installation must be done by certified service providers. Here are some of the authorized Ignition Interlock providers in Nevada:

*Note the list was chosen at random

Ignition Interlock of Nevada
4375 E Sahara Ave Suite #25, Las Vegas, NV 89104
(800) 246-9586

Nevada Car Audio / Ignition Interlock of Nevada
130 B Linden St, Reno, NV 89502
(800) 246-9586

Audio Express
1420 S. Rainbow
Las Vegas, NV 89102

Car Doctor
Attn: Kevin
321 South Decatur
Las Vegas, NV 89107

Vegas Auto Care
3530 South Jones
Las Vegas, NV 89103

The offender is required to install Ignition Interlock Devices on all the vehicle he or she owns and on every vehicle that he or she drives, whether if the offender owns the vehicle or not. If the offender drives a company vehicle to work, then IID must be installed on that vehicle.

Cost of Installation

According to NRS 484C.460, the offender would cover the expense of the Ignition Interlock Devices and all the cost associated with it. Below is a sample of installation cost.

Basic Fees Depending on State & Interlock Type
Installation $100 – 200
Monthly Charges $60 – 100/month
Other Fees Depending on State
Application Fee $25.00
First Violation Appointment Fee $25.00
Case Management Appointment Fee $55.00
Case Management Missed Appointment Fee $55.00
Monthly Appointment Fee $25.00
Monthly Missed Appointment Fee $25.00

(Source lifeguardbreathtester.com)

Our NRS states that after the installation of the device, the offender must have the device inspected by the manufacturer or service provider. Atleast “one” time each 90 days

How the device works

 how interlock device works

(image in courtesy of lifeguardbreathtester)

  1. The driver must blow into the mouthpiece
  2. Ignition Interlock Device would measure the Alcohol Level
  3. If the alcohol level exceeds 0.02, it would prevent the vehicle from starting.
  4. If the alcohol level is below 0.02, it would allow the vehicle to start.

A DUI charge is a life-changing event. A person can get imprisoned for many years and may be required to pay huge sums of money. Contact Goodman Law Group for free legal consultations.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s