goodman law group

DUI Glossary of Terms

Attorney Ross Goodman
520 S 4th St,
Las Vegas, NV 89101
Phone: (702) 383 – 5088
Fax: (702) 385 – 5088


There are many commonly used terms in DUI/DWI cases. If you are charged with a DUI/DWI case, understanding these terms is necessary. Most of these terms can be found on the arrest warrant, court orders, evaluation centers, etc. This article will help you understand the basics of each term. If you want to know more about them, ask a DUI lawyer to further discuss with you the specific term that you want to understand. Here are some of the DUI/DWI terms:

Absorption Rate – This is the rate at which the alcohol is absorbed into the blood stream. The rate varies between individuals depending on several factors. These factors include: the type of beverage consumed, metabolism rate, size and weight of the person, etc.

Administrative License Suspension – This is the suspension of license by the Nevada DMV. A grace period of 7 days is given to the offender to request for a hearing. If after 7 days and there was no appeal for a hearing. The license would be revoked for a period of 90 days.

Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) – This is the amount of alcohol in the blood stream. The amount is measured in percentage. It is measured either through breath, blood or urine. The standard BAC limit in Nevada is 0.08%.

Blood Test – This type of test requires blood to be drawn from the subject. It is taken from the police station or is approved by a blood testing facility.

Breath Test – There are two types of breath test. The first type is the Preliminary Breath Test, a test taken shortly after being pulled over by the police officer. The second type of breath test is the Evidentiary Breath Test. It is a test that is used in court to prove the DUI allegations against the offender.

Breathalyzer – This is a machine that is used to analyze the Blood Alcohol Content in a person. The common type of machine that is used in Nevada is the Intoxilyzer 5000EN.

Chemical Test – This type of test is done to measure the alcohol or drug concentration in a person’s blood, urine, or breath.

Commercial Vehicle – This is a vehicle used for business purposes. Some examples of a commercial vehicle are trucks, delivery vans, buses, school buses, taxis, minivans, and more.

Community Service – This is done in lieu of the jail time charged against the offender. The task includes picking up trash and garbage, sweeping the sidewalks, helping in construction sites, repairs and maintenance, etc.

Conditional License – This is a license granted by the DMV for fulfilling a DUI course, installing an Ignition Interlock Device, or alcohol treatment programs. Condition license allows the offender to drive “to and from” specific places such as work, schools, hospitals, and home.

DUI Schools – The court may order the DUI offenders to be sent to DUI schools. These schools offer alcohol treatment programs, seminars and lectures that are targeted to cure the alcohol addiction of a person.

DWI – It also means Driving While Intoxicated. This is just another term for DUI.

Field Sobriety Test (FST) – This is a physical and mental coordination test that is done to evaluate the person of a possible DUI. The common FST tests in Nevada are: Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus, One-legged stand and Walk-and-Turn.

Ignition Interlock Device (IID) – This is a device that prevents a vehicle from starting if the owner has reached a pre-set BAC limit – 0.02 in Nevada. The owner has to use the IID before he or she can start a vehicle. The court of Nevada may order the installation of an IID if the offender was found to have a BAC of 0.18 or more.

Implied Consent Law – This law states that people have already given the consent for a chemical test once they stepped into a vehicle.

License Revocation – It means that the license has been permanently cancelled. The person is eligible to apply for a new license after a period of time.

License Suspension – It means that the driving privileges are suspended for a specific period of time. Driving privileges would be re-instated after a period of time. If a person is charged with DUI in Nevada, the license suspension will start after the day of the arrest.

Open Container Law – In Nevada, having any opened alcoholic beverage inside the car is illegal while driving. Any person who violates this law may be charged with DUI.

Provisional License – It is a kind of license that has certain restrictions. It acts the same as a conditional license.

Urine test – Among the three chemical test, this is the least priority. A urine test is done only if blood and breath test cannot be performed.

Charged with DUI? Hire Attorney Ross C. Goodman as your defense lawyer. His experience and skills in defending DUI cases are unmatched. He can reduce the penalties for your case or have your case dismissed. Contact the office of Goodman Law Group at (702) 383 – 5088 to avail a free legal consultation.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s