The Effects of DUI to Car Insurance Rates in Nevada

dui-car-insurance

Many are unaware that aside from jail times, fines, and attendance to intervention programs, offenders of DUI (Driving under the Influence) could also face the costly consequence of rising car insurance rates in Nevada. Proceed reading below this post to learn more.

The SR-22 car insurance in Nevada

If convicted of Nevada DUI, the DMV or Department of Motor Vehicles in the State will revoke your license and you must wait the set time to pass before you can apply for its reinstatement. One of the key requirements of a reinstatement is an SR-22. This is a document that must be issued by your car insurance company that shows you have enough financial stability to get back on the road.

If without a current car insurance in Nevada, you must immediately get one as there is a holding period of three years where you must keep your car insurance to keep your driver’s license valid.

The rise of car insurance rates

Due to Nevada DUI, car insurance companies will now treat you as a “high-risk driver”, especially if you have been charged of the very offense many times. This brand means more expensive car insurance rates.

In Nevada, the average car insurance rate in Nevada is $1,809.91 per year and if convicted of DUI, there will be a boost of $855, making your average rate $2,756.44 per year. This is only a general rule, though, as depending on the magnitude of your case, the rates you need to pay might increase 50 to 200%.

You must know that there are some car insurance companies in Nevada that might drop your coverage at the time of DUI while some may not accept you if you try to apply for a new one. The ones that will keep your coverage will typically increase the fees for your premium plans as we have previously stated.

The defenses against Nevada DUI

One of the best solutions against rising car insurance rates is not committing Nevada DUI in the first place. A responsible driver gets to expend their driving privileges without the fear of being pulled over and losing their driver’s license in a single driving session. If it is too late to be a responsible driver in the present time then you must use the following defenses so you can be acquitted and actually try to be responsible the next time.

  • Your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level did not exceed the limit
  • Inexpertly administered field sobriety tests
  • You were drunk driving out of coercion or duress
  • Certain factors heightened your BAC level

Being convicted of DUI really is full of downsides which is why we recommend having a dependable DUI attorney in Las Vegas to handle your charges. You do not have to take on increased car insurance in Nevada if you are with a competent legal representation!

Driver’s License Revocation in Nevada Depending on DUI Offense

Driver's License Revocation in Nevada - Nevada DUI

Since DUI (Driving under the Influence) constitutes control of a vehicle, it is only proper that someone loses the right to drive after committing the said offense. It does not have to be this way for you, though. If you are facing the risk of losing your driver’s license in Nevada because of increased blood alcohol content or BAC level, here are some information that you need to know.

 

What happens during a driver’s license revocation?

When your driver’s license in Nevada is revoked, you cannot get behind a steering wheel and navigate any roads in the State that the public has access to. A license revocation is not under the matters of the court but under DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) and they will set a guideline that you should follow if you want your suspended license in Nevada to be reinstated.

 

How long is a driver’s license revocation period per offense?

A first DUI conviction warrants a 90-day license revocation period along with an alcohol treatment program and a Victim Impact Panel to help you understand further the dangers of driving while intoxicated.

 

A second DUI, on other hand, should entail a year of driver’s license revocation. This, too, could be complemented by a substance abuse treatment program and the car registration itself could be suspended.

 

Now, a third DUI conviction which is a category B felony, holds three years of revocation period. Car registration could also be put on hold and there would be alcohol and drug treatment programs.

 

All of these convictions could also include installation of breath interlock device in your car depending on the judge’s discretion. Understand that trying to drive while still under revocation is punishable by additional license revocation period, fines, jail times, and an even more difficult reinstating procedure.

 

What are the remedies for revocation of a driver’s license in Nevada?

As stated above, the revocation of a driver’s license in Nevada is under DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) and you will have to process your affairs regarding the license on the sector and not in court.

 

Unbeknown to many, a suspended license in Nevada is not automatically reinstated after the time of its revocation. To reinstate a driver’s license, the duration set by the court must be completed and you must go to the DMV in Nevada with the right requirements such as a Certificate of Compliance, an SR-22 insurance, and enough money to pay reinstatement fees.

 

When you are acquitted for charges of DUI, your driver’s license could be reinstated by the DMV automatically. This is not always the case: if the DMV believes a license suspension is just, they could still carry on with it. The same applies to DUI being reduced to reckless driving and a district attorney not filing a case in court.

 

Driving is one of the privileges you cannot afford to lose. Get the aid of a Las Vegas DUI attorney to protect your driver’s license in Nevada and be ultimately acquitted of a DUI offense you did not commit!

Is Vehicular Manslaughter Involuntary or Voluntary?

vehicular manslaughter

Killing a person with a vehicle could be a vehicular manslaughter in Nevada. And many believe that because the crime has the word manslaughter on it, it means that it can be either an involuntary or voluntary Nevada manslaughter with many leaning towards involuntary as it holds milder penalties. However, this is not exactly the case. Vehicular manslaughter in Nevada is set apart from these types of manslaughter and it is definitely different from a vehicular homicide. Here is a post that should help you understand better.

 

Is there a difference between vehicular homicide and vehicular manslaughter?

Yes. Vehicular homicide, according to Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) section 484C.130, is committed when the person driving or in actual physical control of a vehicle is:

  • under the influence of liquor which is proven by a 0.08 blood and breath concentration level
  • under the influence of controlled substances
  • already convicted of at least three related offenses
  • the cause of death another person on or off the highways of Nevada

 

Basically, a vehicular homicide is what happens when there are aggravating factors to a vehicular manslaughter in Nevada which is the killing of a person caused by a vehicle collision or something similar.

 

Is vehicular manslaughter in Nevada an involuntary manslaughter?

As stated in NRS 200.040, vehicular manslaughter is not included in either an involuntary or voluntary Nevada manslaughter.

 

This means a defendant could not argue that the vehicular manslaughter was accidental or for this matter, voluntary. Vehicular manslaughter in Nevada is simply the murder of a person caused by negligence. A misdemeanor charge should be imposed on you if found guilty of vehicular manslaughter and this indicates up to six months in jail, fines of $1,000, and a license revocation of at least a year.

 

Typically, deaths caused by vehicles are accidents but they are still the result of a negligent action which is enough to make it a punishable offense. Defend yourself from the consequences of vehicular manslaughter or any type of manslaughter in Nevada with the assistance of a Las Vegas criminal defense attorney!

What is Evidentiary Breath Testing for DUI in Nevada?

As all of the states, Nevada requires evidentiary breath testing for anyone who is arrested for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in all of its territories. But what really is evidentiary breath testing? How does it differ from other breath tests (or chemical tests)? And can you refuse them? Proceed to read the rest of the post for further information.

 

Purpose of evidentiary breath testing

From its name, the results of evidentiary breath testing are used as evidence once the case goes into trial. This is different from a preliminary breath testing which is performed when a person is pulled over, an evidentiary breath testing is usually done once under custody and through procedures that guarantee more accurate results. For the defendants that are also suspected to be high on drugs, they are also required to have an evidentiary blood testing.

 

The results of these tests can be used by the prosecutor to either press the defendant more to the charges or not go ahead with the case. It also is a basis of whether the Department of Motor Vehicles or DMV in Nevada will suspend the driver’s license of the alleged offender or not.

 

Penalties of refusal to evidentiary breath testing

As we have established, an evidentiary breath testing is vital for the legal proceedings to be completed. Total refusal to this is a violation of law. As according to the Implied Consent Law in Nevada which can be seen in the Nevada Revised Statutes or NRS 484C.160, anyone who drives or has a physical control of a vehicle “shall be deemed to have given his or her consent to an evidentiary test of his or her blood, urine, breath or other bodily substance…”.

 

Know that through this Implied Consent Law, a police officer could use force against the alleged offender. However, before this happens, they must warn them of the consequences such as the following penalties:

  • One-year suspension of driver’s license – this is when the defendant has not refused any chemical tests within seven years
  • Three-year suspension of driver’s license – this can be imposed if the driver already had his or her license suspended due to refusal to evidentiary breath testing within seven years

 

Due to inexperience with how DUI cases work and the confusion caused by the arrest, many defendants make the mistake of refusing an evidentiary breath testing. If you are one of them and you believe that you are falsely accused or not guilty of any charges at all then it is best you have a trusted DUI lawyer by your side.

Treatment Programs for DUI Offenders in Nevada

When someone is charged with a Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Las Vegas and/or in other parts of Nevada, they do not only get consequences of prison time or fines: a DUI treatment program (or attending a DUI school) is mandated by the court. This is to prevent offenders from doing the same thing again by educating them more about DUI and the threats it could pose both in their and other people’s lives. DUI treatment programs can also vary depending on the frequency of the offense. To learn more, read below.

 

First and second DUI in Nevada

A defendant against DUI can apply for a treatment program even before the sentencing. For a first time defender, one can only be eligible if they had been verified as an alcohol or drug abuser by a physician (for this matter it’s a physician authorized by the law enforcement), they already spent at least 24 hours in jail for the offense, and they have agreed to shoulder the payment for the treatment. This goes as well for a second DUI in Nevada; the only difference is you need to had served at least five days in jail.

 

Take note that these treatment programs take time to complete, usually they are three to six months in length which will surely disrupt your daily routine.

 

Third DUI offense

DUI treatment programs are not available for third DUI offenders due to the fact that the accused is ought to stay for a long time in prison when convicted and because they will attend heftier programs such as a Nevada Victim Impact panel.

 

There are numerous DUI schools in Nevada that criminal justice attorneys can recommend. It is imperative that you be present in all of your classes as not going or not finishing a DUI treatment program can mean another set of charges. Now, completing your designated DUI treatment programs entails reducing of penalties.

 

Penalties for DUI in Nevada is imposed not just to punish offenders but also to remind them about the real dangers of DUI that they forget whenever they start drinking or ingesting drugs.

 

If you ever commit charges of DUI again even after a lengthy DUI treatment program then maybe there really is an inward problem that you need to deal with. However, if you firmly believe that you were falsely accused and you already have learned your ways (thanks to the treatment program), then enlist a DUI lawyer to help solve your case.

The Penalties for a Commercial DUI in Nevada

Even drivers of commercial vehicles can get penalized of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Nevada. This is in line with the State’s zero tolerance policy that guarantees criminal charges for anyone who drives while drunk or under the influence of drugs.

 

Commercial DUI in Nevada is when a driver of certain commercial motor vehicles such as company cars, cargo vans, limousines, or coaches are found guilty of violating DUI grounds. This is strictly prohibited as it could cause greater damage especially if a particular commercial vehicle is carrying groups of people or important resources. If you are currently facing this situation, here are some of the penalties that you would need to expect.

 

First commercial DUI offense

Penalties of a commercial Dui in Nevadaare relatively similar to standard DUI sanctions. The only major differences are suspension of license that could go up to three years (if you are transporting hazardous materials) and that you can be barred from being employed as a commercial driver again.

 

For a first commercial DUI offense in Nevada, the penalties are as follows:

  • Two days to six months in jail
  • Community service that lasts up to 48 hours to 96 hours
  • Fines of $400 to $1,000
  • Attendance of treatment programs and a Nevada impact panel

 

Second commercial DUI offense

When you are finally given the chance to drive again after a commercial DUI in Nevadaand you happened to violate it again within seven years after the first offense, you will be charged with misdemeanor that has penalties of:

  • Jail time of 10 days to six months
  • Fines amounting from $750 to $1,000 in price
  • Treatment programs as found in the first offense
  • Possible installation of interlock ignition device

 

Third commercial DUI offense

Just like any other criminal charges, a third commercial DUI offense is a felony in Nevada, specifically a category B felony. This incurs weighty penalties of imprisonment in a Nevada state prison for one year to six years. Large fines and ignition interlock device installation shall also be enforced.

 

When death occurs in a commercial DUI in Nevada(for an example, a woman dies in a fatal crash of the taxi she was riding because the driver is intoxicated), an automatic category B felony should be imposed regardless of the number of offenses. This type of felony charge consists of 20 years of maximum prison time.

 

Commercial DUI is exceptionally harsh because you are providing service and drinking or taking drugs during driving will subdue the trust given to you. Consult a DUI lawyer now for more of your questions about commercial DUI in Nevada!

Blood Tests in DUI: How Do They Work?

When pulled over for DUI (Driving under the Influence), a police officer can request a blood test to be drawn from you. This is to determine if you really were intoxicated at the time of the arrest and therefore had violated DUI laws in Nevada. To learn more about how blood test works in DUI and how your DUI attorney can help, read this post further.

 

When is a blood test for DUI required?

It is during a suspect drug driving where a police officer will request for you to have a blood testsimply because drugs cannot be detected through breath, rendering Breathalyzers useless. If you are arrested for alcohol, you cannot have the option for either a breath or blood test. Choosing a blood test is costly, not just in time but also in money as you have to shoulder the payment for the particular examination.

 

When can you refuse a blood test?

A blood test is a form of evidentiary testing and rejecting it can be an obstruction to legal proceedings enforced in Nevada. This is the reason why you cannot refuse a blood test unless you are only being indicted by the arresting police officer for alcohol.

Refusal of a blood test in DUI could lead to the suspension of your driver’s license for a year. This is also detrimental to your case as refusal can be used as evidence that you are guilty of hiding something from the arresting police officer.

 

How is blood test conducted?

When the police had decided that you need to have a blood test to prove your intoxication, you will be taken to a licensed testing facility for booking. A licensed physician, a phlebotomist, an emergency medical technician, and a registered nurse are only some of the professionals that can draw blood for you. With the assistance of your DUI attorney, you can request a separate blood test for yourself with results that you can use to counter false positive outcomes in court.  

 

How do you fight charges made by a faulty blood test?

A blood test in DUI is easily contested. Since you have no way of knowing if your blood test is actually handled well or not tapped at all, you can challenge the accuracy of the results by stating that faulty equipment was used during the testing and that it was performed by incompetent or uncertified professionals. Of course, if you are going to use this defense, you need solid proof gathered by you and your DUI attorney.

 

Another defense that you can use is the simplest one: you are not under the influence of drugs at all. And if you were, it was due to involuntary intoxication.

 

Blood testing is a testament to the firmness of Nevada law to convict those who are guilty of DUI. To avoid finding yourself being sentenced as one, you need the help of a DUI attorney during the blood testing and through the trial, if it gets pushed through.